Rasmus Munk, Dabiz Muñoz, Leonor Espinosa and Matthew Lightner in the 25th anniversary line-up


We have a very special event planned this year: the 25th anniversary of San Sebastian Gastronomika Euskadi Basque Country. This happy circumstance calls for a look back at all the achievements over a period that has been as long as it has been intense.

It induces us to take a nostalgia-free trip down the memory lane of worldwide contemporary cuisine, homing in on all the milestones chalked up by San Sebastián towards the future of national and international cookery (featuring molecular cooking, new Nordic cuisine, gastronomic explosions in some of the world's major nations, new "terroir" trajectories, scintillating transversal sustainability projects etc.), and celebrating the fact that it was Donostia that marked the beginnings of the future we are now experiencing (and are continuing to experience).

The history of contemporary gastronomy forms part of San Sebastian Gastronomika Euskadi Basque Country. As does the future, because the longest standing major gastronomy event is keen to continue its links to it as judge and jury of gastronomic avant-garde. This year we are celebrating the 25th anniversary with a wealth of surprises. The Kursaal Congress Centre will again be playing host to many of the leading players over the last two and a half decades. But also to those who are now taking up the torch and forging new trajectories. And Japanese and US cuisine will be the star attractions.

The list of speakers will live up to the 25th anniversary of Sebastian Gastronomika Euskadi Basque Country. Leading international chefs Rasmus Munk (Denmark), José Andrés (US), Leonor Espinosa (Colombia), Matthew Lightner (US) and Alex Atala (Brasil). have already confirmed they will be there. And the national speakers on stage at the Kursaal include Dabiz Muñoz, Ángel León, Joan Roca, Eneko Atxa, Elena Arzak, Mateu Casañas, Oriol Castro and Eduard Xatruch, Javier Olleros, Albert Adrià, Begoña Rodrigo, Josean Alija, Ricard Camarena, Quique Dacosta, Maca de Castro, Nacho Manzano, Hideki Matsuhisa, Pedro Subijana and Artur Martínez.

The last 25 years compel us to show no let-up in expectations, and to continue, as always, with global gastronomic state-of-the-art, showcasing and publicising a constant stream of new phenomena, and, of course, to continue to innovate our format in harmony with the modern age. This is why we have made plans for such a red-letter event, an all-new congress map to shake up and analyse all the events over the last quarter of a century, a sounding board for all the new trends, for demonstrations in accordance with modern needs. 





El Diario Vasco Grup GSR